Rock Till You Drop

 

Sunday, May 15, 1983, my friends invited me to the Def Leppard concert. I didn’t know who they were, but told it was a rock band. Of course, this was cool being a 15 year old girl and never having been to a rock concert before.

Monday, May 16, 1983, I returned home from school, dropped my school books on the dresser as the doorbell rang. A young goodlooking guy with bright blue eyes, Kurt Cobain, smiled as I opened the door. Without a word he pointed to the old van parked at the top of my drive. The side door swung open and my mouth dropped as the lead singer in full stage costume exited. If the phone had not started ringing, distracting me, I might have been more concerned about how and why this man knew where I lived.

NOTE: In 1983 Def Leppard was on tour in the US promoting their January released Pyromania album as the support act for Billy Squier before embarking on their own Rock Till You Drop Tour.  They ended the tour with Billy Squier in April of ’83 in Seattle and Oregon.  May 15, 1983 the Swiss band Krokus was their opening act.  Little known fact, Kurt Cobain was on the road crew for this tour.

Posted on September 24, 2011, in Adrenalize, Atomic Mass, Bleach, Brit, British, Butch Vig, Buzz Osborne, Calvin Johnson, Chad Channing, Courtney Love, Dave Grohl, Def Leppard, England, English, Euphoria, Faith No More, Fecal Matter, Frances Bean Cobain, Frances Farmer, Girl, Hair Band, Hole, Hoquiam, Hysteria, In Utero, INXS, Joe Elliott, John Mutt Lange, Jonathan Poneman, Joseph Thomas Elliott, K Records, Krist Novoselic, Krokus, Kurt Cobain, Kurt Donald Cobain, Leland Cobain, Linda Carroll, Melvins, Metal, Mutt Lange, Nevermind, Nirvana, Phil Collens, Phil Collin, Pyromania, Rick Savage, Rock Till You Drop, Seattle, Sheffield, Sid & Nancy, Skid Row, Slang, Steve Clark, Steven Maynard Clark, Swiss, Tacoma, Ted Ed Fred, Women of Doom and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Rock Till You Drop.

Comments are closed.

